David Bowie Announces New Album, “The Next Day” and Releases Lead Single, “Where Are We Now?”

Posted: January 8, 2013 in New Releases, News Updates, Videos
Tags: , , , , , ,

David Bowie, Glam Rock superstar, has donned countless personas and experimented with many musical styles over the course of his twenty four studio-album and forty four-year-long career. Thus, when the singer-songwriter announces a new release, the music industry never knows what to expect.

Nonetheless, “Where Are We Now?,” (featured above) a build-up piano ballad with a beautifully uplifting finale, seems to touch upon themes that resonate throughout much of Bowie’s classic material, including loss of connection to society, mystery and the power of human contact.

On his 66th birthday, Bowie published a post on his website regarding a new studio album, “The Next Day,” his first since 2003′s “Reality.” “The Next Day” will drop on March 8th, 2013 and will feature fourteen tracks plus three additional bonus tracks:

The Next Day Tracklist:
01. The Next Day
02. Dirty Boys
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
04. Love Is Lost
05. Where Are We Now?
06. Valentine’s Day
07. If You Can See Me
08. I’d Rather Be High
09. Boss Of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does The Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
Deluxe Tracks:
15. So She
16. I’ll Take You There
17. Plan

  1. David Kaminsky says:

    Zzzzzzz. Oh. I’m sorry. Is the ballad over? Not the smartest track to release first in my opinion. But the drums finally kicked in…..Is that what you meant by upbeat?

    • eak1994 says:

      Yeah it’s pretty cheesy and not too original, but it’s a decent listen. And I said “uplifting” not “upbeat.” I like the ending

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s