The Grammys came and went…

Posted: February 13, 2012 in News Updates, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Here at the Sound Hound, I predicted the Grammy outcomes perfectly!  9/9.  If you want to see who I chose, check out the article I posted a few weeks ago.  Last year, my predictions, which were published in my school paper, were incorrect for all except for Best Rap Album of the year, which I said would be Eminem for Recovery.  Naturally, I’m a little more satisfied with my outcome.

Now as for the performances, I was decently impressed.  The Foo Fighters, of course, rocked both alone and with Deadmau5, though I was not as baffled as I usually am by them, probably because this was not their show: they were not the headliners, although they were up for 6, I believe, Grammys and appeared three times.  Deadmau5 should have let them keep playing.  I’d rather have heard the rest of “Rope” then a snippet of “Raise your Weapon.”

And how can I forget Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band’s opener, “We Take Care of Our Own?”  That song has gotten mixed reviews but I actually like it a bit.  The version from the Grammys is actually really great and I gained a lot of respect for the tune after seeing it performed live.

Adele completely nailed Rolling in the Deep (but how could she not be used to singing it by now.)

Katy Perry and Nicki Minaj’s performances were extremely weird, too much so for me.  Minaj completely neglected the killer chorus of “Roman’s Revenge” (Rah Rah like a dungeon dragon!) and a great feature from either Eminem or Lil Wayne.

Speaking of Weezy, the performance with David Guetta, Chris Brown and Wayne was less than impressive.  Wayne could have been a lot better.  Chris Brown’s solo performance also failed to impress me.

The best part of the night for me was the Paul McCartney’s grand finale, a medley of Abbey Road songs featuring guitar monsters such as Bruce Springsteen, Dave Grohl, Joe Walsh and McCartney himself.  Every guitarist brought their own personality, agression and musical talent to the performance and it would have been different and worse if any one of them were absent.  I also want to give a shoutout to the lead guitarist of McCartney’s band who really blew me away.  Great show by all.

Solid Grammy Night this year.  I was pretty happy with the outcomes (but it would have been nice to see the Foos take Album of the Year.)

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    Congrats on your accurate predictions!

    About the performances:

    I agree that Adele’s performance of “Rolling In The Deep” was great, but being “used to singing it” apparently doesn’t make it any easier for her. She has terrible stage fright before every performance. So, the fact that she always sounds awesome when she performs is even more impressive.

    The other highlights for me were:

    Bruno Mars – I did not expect the guy who pulled around a piano on one video recently and danced with dressed-up gorillas on another to turn in such a classy performance, but I was very impressed. It was musically solid (that song “Runaway” has a great hook!) and extremely high-energy, polished and entertaining.

    Paul McCartney and Friends – It was such a treat to hear “Golden Slumbers,” “Carry That Weight” and “In the End” from Abbey Road. Sure, his voice didn’t sound good, but I don’t listen to Paul for his voice – he never had a great one anyway – I love his musicianship and his song writing ability. Great music to close the show with.

    Disappointments:
    Agree with you – Katy, Nicki, Chris and Lil’ Wayne. Chris Brown shouldn’t really be performing on a music awards show because his performances are much more about the dancing (he’s a really good dancer) than the music (not so much).

    I thought Jennifer Hudson did a fine job in her Whitney tribute, especially given short notice, but it did highlight the difference between Whitney’s voice and everybody else’s….

    • eak1994 says:

      Adele rocks. She just rocks. Buttttttttt….Wasting Light was the best album of the year…..but that’s okay she was bound to win. Her album is staying in the history books

  2. Meg says:

    I meant Weezy…not Lil’ Wayne!

    • eak1994 says:

      and the Paul McCartney performance just blew me off my seat. Whew what a show! And yes, Bruno Mars was nice and Springsteen sounded good as well. The Deadmau5 Foo collaboration was alright–they sounded better alone.

Leave a Reply

