2011’s Best Albums

Posted: December 16, 2011 in Lists, Reviews

2011 has come to a close and so I compile my first of hopefully many “Best of” lists.  Included are my favorite albums of the year as well as other good records that have a few solid tracks.

The Best albums of 2011: These ones win for being great in every category.  Now, what do I mean by “great?”

Criteria:

1. I love more than half the songs on the record and somewhat like all of them (based on lyrical quality, musical quality and catchiness.)

2. The album has consistency: the songs work well together

3. Quality of the record’s overall sound

So here we go: The Sound Hound’s Best Albums of 2011:

1. Wasting Light – Foo Fighters

2. El Camino – Black Keys

3. Curcuital – My Morning Jacket

4. I’m With You – Red Hot Chili Peppers

5.  Camp – Childish Gambino

6. Angles – The Strokes

7. 21 – Adele

8. Mylo Xyloto – Coldplay

Other albums with some good tracks

Watch The Throne – Jay-Z and Kanye West

Songs I like: “No Church in the Wild,” “Otis,” “N***as in Paris,” “H.A.M.”

Give The Drummer Some – Travis Barker

Songs I like: “Can the Drummer Get Some,” “Knockin’,” “Let’s Go,” “Carry It”

Neighborhoods – Blink 182

Songs I like: “After Midnight,” “Up All Night,” Ghost on the Dance Floor,” “Heart’s All Gone”

Nine Types of Light – TV On The Radio

Songs I like: “Second Song,” “Keep Your Heart,” “Will Do,” “Caffeinated Consciousness”

Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 – The Beastie Boys

Songs I like: “Make Some Noise,” “Say It,” “Ok,” “Nonstop Disco Powerpack”

The Great Escape Artist – Jane’s Addiction

Songs I like: “Irresistible Force,” “Underground,” “End to the Lies”

Suck it and See – Arctic Monkeys

Songs I like: “Suck it and See,” “Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair,” “Brick by Brick”

Bon Iver – Bon Iver

Songs I like: “Calgary,” “Towers,” “Beth/Rest”

Leave a Reply

